Mushroom Sauce For Steak

I have spent the entire Christmas – New Year summer period at my parent’s home in Hamilton.  As per tradition, we always try to make a big deal of our final family dinner at the end of the summer – after all, there’s nothing quite like ending another holiday on a good note!

Our favourite meal is simple: steak, crunchy potatoes and sauce.  The only real decision that needs to be made for a meal plan such as this is “what sauce should I make?”.  As with most things, I like to take the BEST option… which is always Mushroom Sauce.

It’s not too often that I use a clichéd description such as “the best” but life is too short to be making bad mushroom sauce.  And, according to family members who partake in my mushroom sauce, to use the adjective in this case is by no means an exaggeration.

I love this recipe because it is simple, user-friendly, and only requires five ingredients commonly found in most household kitchens.  It also takes less than 15 minutes to assemble, meaning that it can be crafted perfectly alongside the steak preparation.

INGREDIENTS

  • Olive oil
  • 250g sliced mushrooms
  • 150ml cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cloves crushed garlic
thumb_IMG_2046_1024

Sliced button mushrooms

  1. Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add sliced mushrooms and stir-fry until they are slightly browned.  Reduce the heat to medium.
  2. Add cream, salt and pepper and bring the sauce to a boil.  Cook for 8 minutes, stirring occasionally and ensuring that the cream doesn’t overboil.
  3. Once the sauce has reduced by half, add the crushed garlic and cook for a further minute.
  4. Remove from the heat.
  5. Serve with your favourite steak!
thumb_IMG_2048_1024

Mushroom Sauce, ready to be served with your favourite steak

Like I said, this sauce is the BEST.  If you don’t believe me, then I DARE you to try the recipe!  After all, a good steak deserves an even better sauce.

steak_mushroomsauce

Mushroom Sauce and Eye Fillet Steak

Please be sure to like my recipe, follow my blog and share it with your friends to make sure you keep up-to-date with the happenings in my kitchen, bookshelf and life in general.  Also, check out my YouTube channel for all my latest videos – new videos are uploaded every Monday at 6pm (well, that’s the aim anyways)

I hope this recipe is as delicious for you as it is for me!  Peace and good eats,

L x

 

7 thoughts on “Mushroom Sauce For Steak

  1. anroworld says:

    I should dare to have a try! Looks very delicious and mouthwatering, thank you for sharing it with us, dear Lizzie! wish you many luck for this week and your video channel, hope soon you will be a real star!

    Liked by 1 person

    • laughswithlizzie says:

      Yes, DARE to give it a try! I was brought up on mushrooms, so I cannot help but LOVE them so I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

      Also, please give my youtube channel/blog a share and get your friends amongst! Hopefully I can share with them something that they will also identify with! Love xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

