Traditional Greek Salad

When I was 17 years old, I embarked on one of the greatest journeys of my life – I moved overseas.  Although it was daunting to be away from home, I learnt a lot about independence, paving my own way in life and the world around me.

My travels took me all over Europe.  From the snow-covered grass fields of England, to the vibrant colours of Spain, to the eerily beautiful streets of Poland – these are just a few of the mesmerising scenes I was lucky enough to experience firsthand.  But it wasn’t only a tour of legendary sights that I was undertaking; I was also embarking on a culinary tour of the continent.

I was fortunate enough to spend a week on the beautiful island of Corfu off the coast of mainland Greece.  I spent many a day, sitting out in the scorching hot sun, sampling the local cuisine and marvelling in the beauty of the Adriatic/Ionean Seas.

A favourite dish that has stayed with me all these years later is the Traditional Greek Salad.  I absolutely love how fresh and flavoursome it is.  As today was a scorcher of a day, not unlike those I remember in Greece, I decided it was the perfect evening to reacquaint myself with this particular dish.

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 large tomatoes
  • 1 cucumber, peeled
  • 1 red onion
  • 16 olives
  • 100g feta cheese
  • 1 tsp ground oregano
  • 4 tbsp virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  1. Begin by slicing the tomatoes into irregular wedges.  Place these into a large salad bowl along with the 16 olives.
  2. Roughly chop the cucumber and add to the salad.
  3. Cut the red onion into thin slices, then add to the salad.
  4. Pour in olive oil, then mix all the ingredients until they are thoroughly combined.
  5. Roughly chop the feta cheese, then scatter over the salad.
  6. Sprinkle the oregano over the salad, then season to your liking with salt and pepper.
thumb_IMG_2011_1024

Traditional Greek Salad freshly served

As you can see, this dish is quick and easy to put together.  It is best served as a side dish to a main, but can also beautiful compliment crusty bread that can absorb all the fabulous juices.  Tonight I served it with a beautiful lamb chop and rosemary sauce – lamb is a staple meat for Greek locals, so the flavours worked perfectly together!  I have to admit that it is recipes like these that make me dream I will be lucky enough to go back to the beautiful country of Greece!

Anyways I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do – please give it a go! Also, please follow my blog and subscribe to my YouTube channel to keep up-to-date with the latest happenings in my kitchen, bookshelf and life in general!

Until next time,

Lizzie x

8 thoughts on “Traditional Greek Salad

Leave a Reply

