Banana-Berry Breakfast Smoothie

Smoothie: A thick, smooth drink of fresh fruit pureed with milk, yoghurt or ice-cream.

That is how it is defined by the Oxford Dictionary.  But in modern-day society, it is so much more than a “drink”.

The smoothie is almost indisputable in it’s position at the top of the ‘healthy breakfast’ menu.  However, what we sometimes forget to grasp in our attempt to secure a healthy diet, is that a smoothie has to be the right smoothie for the right person.

Before I share my recipe with you, I want to make one thing very clear: I am in no way, shape or form an expert on nutrition.  But I have done enough research to have a remedial grasp on some basic concepts, and an understanding about what works well for MY body.

Today I thought I would share with you a favourite recipe of mine that I regularly call upon for breakfast.  It is a simple recipe, with only five ingredients, and is perfect for those of us who are on a schedule.  It not only tastes delicious, but is incredibly filling and gets me energised for my day ahead.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 1 cup mixed berries
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons greek unsweetened yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup ice cubes
  1. Slice up the banana and place into a blender, along with all the other ingredients.
  2. Blend the ingredients together until they are well-combined.
  3. Pour into a tall glass and enjoy!

thumb_IMG_1978_1024I hope you give this recipe a try!  It would be the perfect start to any day.  If you do, please drop me a comment and let me know how you liked it.  If you would like to try the vegan option, just substitute in coconut yoghurt!

Anyways, please follow my blog so that you can keep up-to-date with the happenings in my kitchen, bookshelf and life in general! Also feel free to follow me on any of my other social media accounts – you can find them all at the bottom of my blog!

Until next time,

Lizzie x

4 thoughts on “Banana-Berry Breakfast Smoothie

Leave a Reply

